Charlie Buttrey

June 18, 2021

Once every 17 years or so, cicada aficionados get the chance to dive into this protein-rich and free source of nourishment. According to Prevention Magazine, cicadas can be prepared in any number of ways: in dumplings, banana bread, fried in tempura batteralongside chips and dip, and riced with veggies.

Be careful, though. The FDA has warned that people with seafood allergies should not eat cicadas. “These insects,” the agency explains, “share a family relation to shrimp and lobsters.”

Does that mean they’re not kosher?

© 2020 Charlie Buttrey Law by Nomad Communications